What can car accident attorneys do to help after an accident caused by reckless driving?
A reckless driving charge in Missouri can be a very serious offense, resulting in a hefty fine or in some cases, even jail time. But what exactly constitutes as “reckless driving” in Missouri and when is it time to call one of Tolbert Beadle’s car accident attorneys?
Reckless Driving in Missouri
The state of Missouri requires that drivers execute the “highest degree of care” when operating a motor vehicle on the road. What this means is that drivers are expected to drive at a safe speed and operate a vehicle cautiously without the intent to harm pedestrians or other drivers on the road.
There are many possible situations that might be considered reckless driving in Missouri, many of which are just common sense. Here are a few examples of situations in which a reckless driving ticket can be issued:
- street racing
- driving on the wrong side of the road
- driving without headlights at night
- excessive speeding
- texting while driving
- unnecessary braking
- dangerous weaving between lanes
- trying to outrun a police officer
Penalties and Consequences
If a driver is charged with reckless driving, he or she will need to contact a car accident attorney for legal defense, especially because the penalties for reckless driving in Missouri can range in severity. A reckless driving charge can have lasting effects on an individual’s driving record and depending on the case, can stick around on a driving record for 3-5 years or even permanently. Additionally, a driver convicted of reckless driving will have to deal with increased insurance rates.
If a driver is charged with reckless driving, it is classified as a Class B misdemeanor, resulting in fines up to $500 or up to 6 months in jail. If a driver is charged with reckless driving that results in a car accident, it is classified as a Class A misdemeanor, resulting in fines up to $1,000 or up to one year in jail.
Reckless drivers in Missouri also face the additional consequence of four points on their driver’s license. In some cases, a driver’s license may even be suspended.
Car Accident Attorneys for Reckless Driving Charges
If you are involved in a reckless driving accident that results in personal injury or property damage, you will need to hire one of our experienced car accident attorneys. Your lawyer can help you avoid getting your license suspended or even lessen the charge to a no-point violation so your insurance rates won’t increased. In some instances, car accident attorneys can even help get the charge dismissed entirely.
If you are in need of a car accident attorney, contact Tolbert Beadle for a free consultation today. Our experienced lawyers will help you sort out any reckless driving charges you may be faced with.